top of page

Zooming Through Queer Culture



Stuck indoors, yearning for a dose of LGBTQ history and culture?  Welcome to Oscar Wilde Tours’ new project, Zooming Through Queer Culture:  a series of live, on-line tours and lectures by the top guides and writers on LGBTQ culture, history, and art.  Join our founder Professor Andrew Lear and his colleagues from across the cultural sector for a series of LGBTQ tours of cities and museums, beamed directly to your computer via Zoom.  We will bring queer culture direct to you from institutions such as the Met,  MoMA, The Whitney, and British Museum, as well as LGBTQ history tours of Greenwich Village, Hollywood, and Paris’ Père Lachaise Cemetery (where among many other greats, Oscar Wilde and Gertrude Stein are buried)—and that’s just the first 4 months!


Here is an initial schedule, but check back regularly for new dates and new tours as the program expands.  Events will take place at 2 pm EST (11 am PST, 7 pm GMT) and will run approximately 75 minutes, including time for Q&A.  Tickets are $10 per person.

Upcoming Tours:

August 16 — High Time and Hot Times in Homo Harlem, 1920-1990, Michael Henry Adams

August 30 — The Whitney Museum of (Queer) American Art, Joshua Lubin-Levy

September 13 — Unhung Heroes of the Metropolitan Museum, Professor Andrew Lear

September 20 — “A Queer History of the World:  10 objects in the British Museum,” Jack Shoulder

October 4 — Contemporary Queers, a queer tour of MoMA, George Benson

October 11 — Call Me By Your Name  film locations tour, by Quiiky Tours

コメント


bottom of page